King's Lynn Festival - 6 Hands: John Williams, John Etheridge and Gary Ryan

23rd July 2019, 19:30 to 21:30 at King's Lynn Corn Exchange, Tuesday Market Place, King's Lynn (39.9 miles)

View larger map  |  Get directions
After many years of playing together, John Williams and John Etheridge are embarking on a short tour with classical guitarist and composer Gary Ryan. This colourful and varied programme of solos, duos and trios will delight classical guitar fans.

John Williams has collaborated with many musicians including Julian Bream, Itzak Perlman, Andre Previn, Cleo Laine, John Dankworth and Daniel Barenboim. Other musical activities have included the group Sky, collaborations with Richard Harvey, a duo with John Etheridge and the music of Latin America and Africa. The complete collection of his 58 CD�s (and one DVD) for Sony/CBS was issued in 2016. In 2007 he was presented with an Edison lifetime achievement award. After the release of The Deer Hunter in 1978, Williams� instrumental version of the theme tune �Cavatina� became a UK Top 20 hit.

John Etheridge enjoys a glowing reputation throughout the jazz world and beyond and has been described by Pat Metheny as, �One of the best guitarists�. His range is well illustrated by his years of touring and recording with the iconic Stephane Grappelli while simultaneously doing likewise with the legendary jazz-fusion group, The Soft Machine. John is equally at home on acoustic and electric guitar and his willingness to engage with so many styles is matched by his ability to excel in any of them. He has played with Yehudi Menuhin, Dizzie Gillespie, Herb Ellis, Mundell Lowe, Nigel Kennedy, Pat Metheny, Birelli Lagrene, Barney Kessel, Vic Juris and countless others.

Gary Ryan is one of the worldâ��s leading exponents of the guitar and has performed to international critical acclaim for over twenty years, winning praise for his formidable technique, outstanding musicianship and entertainingly diverse programmes. In 2013 he became the first guitarist since John Williams in 1983 to be awarded a Fellowship of the Royal College of Music in recognition of his contribution to the instrument (and only the fourth guitarist ever to receive this honour, other recipients being Andr�©s Segovia and Julian Bream).